Judith Beale 


The Judith Beale Scholarship promotes educational and professional development by providing students and archives professionals with funding to attend the SFA Annual Meeting. Named in honor of professional archivist and member of the Society of Florida Archivists Judith Beale, who passed away in 2010, the scholarship pays tribute to Judith's boundless enthusiasm for the archives profession and her passion for working with students.

Click here to donate to the Judith Beale Scholarship Fund.
[NOTE: Pursuant to Chapter 496, Florida Statutes, a copy of the official registration and financial information of this organization may be obtained from the Division of Consumer Services by call toll-free within the State. Registration does not imply endorsement, approval, or recommendation by the State. Toll-free number: 800-HELP-FLA (800-435-7352), Website: www.FloridaConsumerHelp.com, License number: CH48488.]


Qualified applicants must be current college students pursuing an undergraduate or graduate degree or professionals in the archival community. Applicants must also be current or new members of the Society of Florida Archivists. Special consideration will be given to students and individuals new to the archives profession in Florida. Successful applicants receive complimentary registration for SFA's Annual Meeting. Exceptional applicants may also receive a stipend to help defray travel and lodging costs.

*Due to COVID-19 and the continued concern for the health and safety of our members, presenters, and sponsors, the 2021 SFA Annual Meeting will be held virtually.

In lieu of complimentary registration to the SFA Annual Meeting, this year’s scholarship recipients will choose one of the following options:

  • Option 1: Funding of registration fees for the virtual Annual Meeting of the Society of American Archivists (up to $300).
  • Option 2: Funding for an approved professional development opportunity (up to $300).

Application Process and Submission Deadline

Application packets will consist of the following materials:

  • A one-page letter describing the applicant's interest in the scholarship and how it will contribute to their educational or professional goals.
  • Résumé or curriculum vitae.
  • Letter of reference from someone knowledgeable about the applicant's course of study or professional work.
  • Student applicants will submit a transcript of coursework completed and underway. Unofficial copies of transcripts will be accepted.

Incomplete applications or materials received after the deadline will not be considered. Please direct inquiries and completed applications to the committee chair, Mindy Berg (bergmindy5 AT @gmail.com)

The 2021 application cycle for the Judith Beale Scholarship is now open. All applications must be submitted by March 15, 2021.

Past Beale Scholarship Winners

2021 Luis Berthin, Bridget Bihm-Manuel, Adam Hunt
2020 Adam Solomon
2019 Claire Barnewolt, Kryslynn Collazo, and Carady DeSimone
2018 Adam Berkowitz, Bart Delcamp, and Paige Downey
2017 Sara Kiszka, Carolina Meneses, Lynn Phillips, Skye von Achen, and Andrea Malanowski
2016 Ashley Ashabranner, Jennifer Bowne, Gilbert Gott, Jocelyn Hurtado, Sarah Kautz, and Mary Rubin
2015 Rebecca Bramlett, Steven Duckworth, Katherine Hoarn, Theresa Hooker, Lisa Petrillo, and James Schultz
2014 Amanda Moreno, Angiemarie Villafañe, and Hannah Wiatt Davis
2013 Miranda Doran-Myers, Alice Graves, Catherine Jones, Marissa Kings, and Michael Wright
2012 Christine Bethke, Tricia Chua, Debra Davendonis-Todd, Janet DeVries, Benjamin DiBiase, Anya Owens, Debra Willis, Erika Yagodzinski, and Kimboo York
2011 Tyeler McLean, Adrienne Serra, Hadi Sheikhnia, Kimberly Ann Tinnell, Benjamin Yadon, and Erika Yagodzinski
2010 Billy R. Glasco, Jr., Anne Larrivee, Tracy Lin Seurer, and Marjorie Young
2009 Katherine Adams, Melissa Barber, Barbara Cardinale, and Carlos Pearman
2008 Ana D. Rodriguez, Beatrice C. Skokan, and Sandra Varry
2007 Katia Nuñez
2006 April Anderson, Janine Awai, Gail Donovan, Anastasia Levadas, and Erin VanClay
2005 Florence Turcotte
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software